Home | Rooms and Rates | Policies | Photo Gallery | Contact Us

The 5.3 acres of land was willed to the Oakley family by W.T.C. Boyd.  Mr. Boyd was the son of Mossom Boyd, one of the early pioneers who through his lumbering enterprises helped in the development of the Village of Bobcaygeon.   Tom and Aileen Oakley started construction of the house in 1924 and completed it about a year later.  An architect was hired and an addition was added to the back of the house in the 50’s.   John and Lee Tollett purchased Stonehenge in August 1997 from Eric and Joan Oakley (the son and daughter-in-law of the original owner).

It is a short walk to the Public Library, the Sheila Boyd Art Room and the Boyd Heritage Museum where you will find more information about the Boyd family.  We are proud to display one of Sheila Boyd’s paintings in our Great Room.

Bobcaygeon was officially incorporated as a village in 1876 and takes its name from an Algonquin word ‘bobcaygewanunk’, meaning shallow rapids or swirling rivers around islands.   The village is actually made up of three islands which are joined by seven bridges.  It is one of the most popular and picturesque places to visit and is called “the hub of the Kawarthas”.

© 2010 - Stonehenge Waterfront Bed and Breakfast, All Rights Reserved. Designed / Programmed by TaraByte Designs Team